When You Love Two Countries

Another year has gone by, my maternity leave has come to an end. Three months have passed, our time in Finland is over and it is time to go back to our home in London. Goodbyes await, yet again.

lake1

Anyone who spends their life living in two or more countries knows what I’m talking about. You are always saying goodbye to something.

Lake2

When you are in one place, you miss the other, but when it is time to go it is so difficult to say goodbye. It will be a whole year until we return to Finland.

DSC06616

This year I got to stay longer at the summer house than I have probably ever stayed and so I do feel like my roots have been truly watered…but I can’t help to feel melancholic.
11335161_376970832498002_1957778422_n

I’m trying very hard to take mum’s advice; it is a richness to have such a wide circle of life and to love two countries. Whenever we return it is always exciting, special, memorable and fun. And how wonderful to get to go back home to London.

11357650_1012833825401211_1485569936_n

All these photos were taken at our summer house during this cold, rainy summer and I will store them all in my heart forever.

Leave a Reply

